Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Odd request

Hi Y'all,

I just got an odd request from a lady looking at my portraits. She loved them and would like something like a portrait to use as a tombstone for her dearly departed poodle. Of course, the BB ply with the black paper and luann backer wouldn't hold up for more than a day outside. Any of you intelligent scrollers got any ideas? Much obliged, as usual.

Hmmm. Could open up a whole new market.
    Mike

Making sawdust with a Dremel 1680.
    www.picturetrail.com/naturephotos

I have had issues before with outdoor projects.

I have never used Corian before but I know that would hold up. From what I understand it is hard as rock to cut, but Like I said I have never done it.

You could try Plexiglas it comes in various colors.

I have cut polystyrene and it has similar characteristics to plexi when cutting.

Aluminum....but not traffic signs!

oops strike all the above. I just saw you asking intelligent, not wise *** scrollers.
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Corian is hard and durable, but dont be scared to cut it. It cuts nicely with the right blade. I use a FD-Polar blade and it cut great. Give Mike a holler and he might send you a blade to try. Check with cabinet shops for a few sink cutouts of corian, you may be able to get them reasonable.If you cant find any, I will check to see if I still have any of the stone looking colors hereif you decide to use it. One other nice thing is they come in colors that resemble stone, so I think corian is a perfect choice! Dale
      Dale w/ yella saws

Comment