Getting use to smaller blades

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting use to smaller blades

Hello everyone, I just received my new Dewalt 788. I've been use to working with my old Ryobi saw that took pin blandes so the smalles blade i worked with was a #5, I started playing around with the new one and purchased some blades,2.0 and boy let me tell you that I thought I was going to go crazy, just tring to see it was hard enough but when I started cutting. wow. I guess it's just going to take some time. Any pointers?

Bright lights.

See if you can get a lighted magnifier light. Office Depot, and Office Max sells them as well as other places like Wal-Mart.

I hope this link works:
    http://www.officedepot.com/ddSKU.do?...g=true&An=text

This is only to illustrate what I am talking about. Many others carry this type of product. Do shop around.

Phil

Comment

For magnification when cutting my puzzles with 2/0 blades, I use 3.0 reading glasses, which also serve as eye protection.

Practice, practice, practice. You'll quickly learn how to let the saw do the work and yet be controlled by the slightest touch of your fingertips. One of the first things to learn is how to back off when turning so the saw doesn't continue to cut until you want it to. Slow the speed down at first and then gradually increase it as your confidence builds.

Also, remember that the smaller the blade, the smaller the possibility of your fingers being cut. You can work with your fingers very close to the blade and, if you slip, touching the blade will probably not produce a cut. The smaller blades are pretty safe. So get in close without worry.

Best wishes.....Carter

Comment

Thanks for all your help

I go out and get one of them lights, Thanks for all the advise

Comment

Train your Brain