need help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help.

Hi folks. I do need some help here. I have never scrolled mettale. and wont to add it to my tile. it has to be thin. and how would I glue it to wood. I Know. it has been talked about before. but save me some searching. and let me know what you do. darn I didn't wont to tell; ya, but I am doing a train, with a bridg. and i wont to do it in a 3D affeict. I know spelling. anyway. I am going to work with some differant woods. to get the train to look 3d. but i wont to add some mettale for the bridg. I can cut it out in wood. but wont to put a layer of mettale on top. to make it real. remember, it has to be thin. almost like. aluminom foil. but durabale. the cuts will be very small. almost cant use a drill bit small enouph to cut the chanales. Why in the world do I pick such hard projects. lol. but this is what i wont to do. thanks for all your help. your friend Evie

evie, being a former machinist I can tell you that metal is pretty easy to cut and you can find sheets of engraving metal usally brass, but I have also used aluminum and stainless sheets, some have a thin double sided tape on the back that will hold for a very long time. I have used it in thicknesses of 1/16 and 1/32, although I have never scrolled it before I have cut it on a bandsaw, I would recommend a slower speed and take your time feeding it in. Sorry I can't give you more help, but be careful as it will have very sharp edges.

Wayne
    You can't depend on your eyes if your imagination is out of focus...Mark Twain

Comment

and use the proper blade. Ill look for a supplier for superthin metals. Dale
      Dale w/ yella saws

Comment

Evie,