Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Scrolling with questions

Greetings all;

Well, first of all I am fairly new to scrolling and this site, which I found about a week ago. This being my first week in retirement I have been, finally, able to spend an obscene amount of time in the shop. And more specifically in front of my Hegner. Tried puzzles and Fretwork so far. Hooked big time. Granddaughter loves the puzzles. Look forward to finishing my 'Fanasty Horse' Fret project. Still need to get mirrored plexiglass to call it complete.

Been reading this forum religously and gleening a lot of new ideas. Which brings me to ask these questions for the software gurus' out there.
    1) Is there a way to convert .pdf files to tif,wmf, or whatever so that the file can be manipulated, resized, etc.?
    2) I do have PSP7 and older version of CorelDraw. (It would be nice to scan items and be able to work with the drawing like you can with Vectors.) Got Andy's tutorial on PSP and will run through that today. Is there any difference or advantage to upgrading to PSP9?

SSW mag is my bible to scrolling. Have enough patterns to work with, but ideas I have gotten on this forum are leading me to try new things already. (Scanning, enlarging/reducing, creating new patterns, etc.)
    So much to learn - better start slow.

p.s. To Blademan ( believe you're the one) - I took WMYoung's advice and ordered some Pegas' Puzzle blades. Will compare to the FD blades I have now. Like them, cut very well but do stray off course. OK once I got used to it.

Paul S.

Paul S.

There is some software that will open PDFs for manipulation, most of it is relatively expensive for a pauper like me.
    If you get adobes acrobat7 you can do so much with pdfs.
    You can always use the capture tool inside the Adobe reader. It is the camera icon.
    Once you clip the picture to the clipboard, you can open your favorite paint program and make the changes.