Photos of work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photos of work

i'm having trouble taking nice photos of my completed work for advertising. what does everyone else do to take nice, professional looking photos? thanks.

Not sure if you are talking for a catalog or just for showing on the internet. But in any case I am by no means a pro or do I take great pictures. I do know though the 2 main things to concern about is Lighting and the background. You do not want to have clutter in the background or a backdrop that is too busy that it will detract from the object you are taking a picture of. The lighting part is hard so this is why I use the best lighting designer I can find and that happens to be Mother Nature. I like to shoot my projects outdoors but out of the sun light. Now I have taken indoor pictures but have to set up lights to shine from 4 different angles to hide the shadows and using soft colored lamps helps. There are some people that are more professional and will be able to get specific. By the way a good digital camera helps.
    John T.

Comment

JT hit the nail on the head--lighting and background are very important. We've got an article coming out in the next issue of SSW that discusses it in more detail, but if you take a couple of clamp-on shop lights and fit them with the spiral florescent bulbs, you can get pretty close to natual sunlight inside. Be sure to set your "White Balance" setting on your camera to "auto" or "Florescent"--otherwise your photo will take on an odd color.