Releasing the tension

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Releasing the tension

In another thread we were discussing whether or not blades stretch under normal use. As a beginner I would put excessive of tension on the blade and used to break quite a few.
    I tend to wear them out now.
    I remember reading the amount of tension on a scrollsaw blade is in the tens of thousands of pounds per square inch. I wish I could remember where I read that. When you think of the cross section of a blade and the leverage involved in the tension mechanism, multiplied by the length of the arm, I guess it isn't too far off.

Now that the long winded preamble is over, how many scrollers leave tension on their saw? I know I do and it is a nasty habit I need to break. Not only does it apply forces to the blade, clamps and arm, it is also hard on bearings and bushings.

I am sure there are other bad habits that some of us have in the scrolling world and we are not even aware they are bad.
    I would show you a picture of my shop so you could find them but I am afraid the website couldn't handle all that extra traffic
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

I always release the tension on my saw when it is not being used. I give it a good vacuum job after each scrolling session. Mick
    Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment

I too always release tension on the scrollsaw and bandsaw. It is a habbit that should be practiced for reasons mentioned above. You could probably get away with it more with a scrollsaw than a bandsaw.
      John T.

Comment

i also release the tension.

Comment

I always do release the tension on my scrollsaw and my bandsaw.

I also always, always, always, lower my blade on my tablesaw...
          "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
          Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC