laminating a photo or picture to wood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• laminating a photo or picture to wood

I am trying to learn how to laminate a picture or photograph to wood. I have been told one method is decoupage. Any knowledge of other successful methods would be appreciated.Needless to say, I am a beginner.Help!!!!!! I would be happy to purchase any back issue that gives instructions for the feeble-minded.Thanks Tom

I have seen people adhere the photo to the wood and then pour a clear resin over the top of it. You can get at any craft store.
    John T.

Comment

I like to us a product called podge. It is like a white glue.
      I like to thin it a little so it doesn't glob up.
      Almost any white craft glue will work.
      A point to remember though is that some ink jet printers will smudge with water based finishes.
      I have also used spray adhesive on both the wood and the paper to ensure a good bond. Then I have coated the finished picture with water based urethane.
      I prefer water based products for the clean up, even if they can be cause the fibers of wood to swell, a light sanding between usually corrects this problem. Once again the brown paper bag method seems to work best
      CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
      "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
      Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Tom:

Your original post to this thread was your first post to this forum, so I extend my Welcome to you. I hope you enjoy your visits here. Do post some more about yourself in the new members' introduction area. Some knowledge of your style of work will help direct the answers.

From my own experiences:

1. The maker of Podge (Plaid Enterprises, www.plaidonline.com) has a sister product Royal Coat. I like Royal Coat. I recommend you don't use Podge or Royal Coat as a top finish because you can never loose the brush marks out of the finish. Neither is 'best' product for all woods, all photos, and so forth.