Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• n00b

Hi
    I am new at scrolling. i dont have a saw yet but im looking at a lower end delta. can you reccomend any books and or inexpensive sawa. i was also looking at the dremel scroll station.

First of many answers

I started with a Delta, it is a good beginners saw.
    I used one for many years with few problems.
    There are some great books out there.
    The Scroll Saw Workbook is available right here from Fox Chapel
    Scroll Saw Basics by Patrick Spielman is also a good book and also available here.
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Welcome to the greatest web site of scrollers in the world -- if you have any questions or problems by all means post them and we will all give you free advice ----
      Sharon

Comment

Check this out: http://www.mikesworkshop.com/newprod.htm Getting the book and the assrt. pck at the same time, you save $ 3.00 and free S/H.
        Check also the "Q & A" page. You can find a lot of good tips.

Mike M
        SD Mike

Comment

you are all so helpful are there free patterns?

Comment

The best "free" patterns I've gotten are from the magazines - Scroll Saw Workshop and Creative Woodworking and Crafts. SSW is the better of the 2 if you can only afford 1, but CWC comes out a few more times a year, and there is always a nice variety of patterns in both of them.
            There is also a "free Scrollsaw Patterns" group on MSN, I think. Type in free scrollsaw patterns in your search gizmo, and see where it takes you. I found that most of their free patterns were of the portrait or fretwork variety - and I like other sorts, so personally that was not too helpful -yet. As skill grows, so do interests.
            I hope you get your saw soon, so that you can join in the fun.
            Sandy

Comment