Pen and Paper or Computer Software

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pen and Paper or Computer Software

This question goes to all of you out there that design your own fretwork patterns.

I would like to find out which way is the most common way people design their fretwork patterns, “pen and paper” or “computer software”.

If pen and paper, what tools do you recommend? And if it is computer software what do you recommend?

Are there any books on the market that will help someone (like me) to learn the design process?

Bigfoot

Once again a long winded reply.

Bigfoot:

I am just starting out in design. I am trying to focus on simple puzzle designs. I an trying to learn on the Corel Draw Suite version 12 software package.

What I am going to go on about is the differences between software packages for designing fretwork. There are three major groups: Bitmap paint programs, vector graphic applications, and CAD programs. The cost breakdown is as you expect Bitmap painting lowest, CAD the highest.

Many people have learned to use Paint Shop Pro (previously by Jasic, now Corel Corp.) as a good bitmap paint program. The world is now divided between Adobe Illustrator suite and Corel Draw suite for vector graphic programs. CAD programs are another thread all by themselves.

We are talking about fretwork, and intarsia, not shadow scrollsawing or complex 100's of pieces of wood for furniture making.

You also get to decide on the input device of your choice. For many the "mouse" on your computer is just not functional enough to work with many of the programs. Depending on your personal style, and Eye & Hand co-ordination, you can upgrade to a Track-ball, or add a Pen Tablet. At a minimum you will need an optical mouse (one that uses IR instead of a small rubber ball on the bottom of the mouse.)

Gee, my post is way too long, and I haven't said anything useful to you yet. Let me try again: