Puzzle Safety for Children

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Puzzle Safety for Children

I have been teaching pre-k for 14 years. I have been collecting calendars with plans to make puzzles for my classroom. Also, I would like to make puzzles using digital pictures. (the process to make them durable and safe). I am in hopes that the experienced scrollers from this message forum will be able to help. I need to know the process to take with these puzzles (from beginning to the end). The pattern/process that I have seen says nothing about using non-toxic materials. I want to make sure I do the right thing to make these puzzles safe for young children and last for years to come. Also,where can I buy these supplies if they are available?
    p.s. I would like to start a collection of my own puzzles, any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thank you,
    SonjaRaquel

SonjaRaquel:

Try to get a copy of:
    Scroll Saw Puzzle Patterns by Patrick Spielman (with Patricia Spielman) published by Sterling press.
    --Amazon.com has the book available--

The puzzles are very easy to cut, and are just too cute to describe.

As for finishing, go to local Drug store and get Mineral Oil. There is a kid safe water based paint available at large craft / hobby stores. One manufacture is Delta Technical Coatings, Inc. who makes a non-toxic water based acrylic paint. web site http://www.deltacrafts.com

ASIDE: using water based products on wood requires special techniques beyond scope of my expertise and beyond scope of this thread.

For Pre-schoolers, you can also try woodburning (sorry, I just don't like the word "pryographic") the eyes and noses on the Speielman's puzzles.

HTH
    Phil

Comment

puzzling

MDF or baltic birch are both good woods to use. I use "Tacky" glue to stick the puzzles on, then coat them with more tacky glue to finish them.