When does craft become art?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When does craft become art?

I don't know about the rest of you but when I saw, sometimes I get to thinking about the darnest things. Today while working on an intarsia piece, I was wondering - When does craft become art?

For me, craft becomes art when the work isn't mass produced but made to be original and not just like the last one. I consider something art when I can feel, see or touch a peice and get MORE from it than what is on the surface. For example, I look for the spirit of the animal in a wildlife piece, or the personality of a person in a portrait.

How about you - when does "craft" become "art"?

Lifewise
    www.canadianwoodcrafters.ca

Whenever you make something with your own hands it is art for it is your interpretation of a pattern or your own design. That is why you are known as an artisan more than a craftsman. You are creating all the time. I as an electrician by trade consider myself also a craftsman because I do work that is repetitious and is done with skill in that trade. There is some creation involved but more skill of doing the same thing. Hope that makes sense.
    John T.

Comment

Here's my go at it.

Art is the interpretation/presentation of a thought or feeling, while craft is the execution of somebody elses thought or feeling. You can be a great artist and a lousy craftsman or a great craftsman and a lousy artist or anything in between. Art is creating something with your mind or heart while craft is executing a plan or pattern, created by someone else, with your hands/tools. Art can be taken to the extreme as evidenced by some of the shows in galleries in recent years (if you don't know I ain't tellin' on this board).

Comment

I've heard it said that art is whatever an artist calls "art". It's like nailing jelly to a tree. I know what it isn't when I see it.

As the New Yorker cartoon has it, "I know all about Art, but I don't know what I like"