Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Design input please

Scrollers,
    I have a first draft of my first portrait design and would like to hear what others might do to improve it before putting blade to wood. This is going to be a surprise for our Pastor and wife - their son just went into the Marines - using his "official" USMC picture. Please advise.
    Attached Files
    Bruce
    . . . because each piece will be someone's heirloom someday.
    visit sometime
    Hawk 220VS, Delta 40-570

is there a way to take away some wood from the dark areas of his uniform and the brim of his hat? It would give a bit more "Wow" ..just my opinion tho

Sue Chrestensen

Comment

Hello Bruce, I've just finished my first design from a picture myself. It's a lot of fun knowing that you are able to bring it from photo to wood and create something that will be treasured a long time.

What program are you using? Keep in mind that I'm just getting started but the advice that I was given from others was to capture as many details as possible and not to leave so much wood in between, or blank spaces. Something that help me tremendously was Andy's tutorial. Have you read it yet?

Here's the link:

http://www.freewebtown.com/80ArtDesigns/page1.html

It all boils down to, I think, getting it completed to your satisfaction. But it sure is good to get others opinions that have been at this longer than I have. It just makes us all a little bit better.

Would sure like to see it as you progress.
      Troy

Scrollin' with DeWalt DW788

Comment

Hi Bruce, I had a play with the photo to see if I could get the effect that I believe Sue is talking about. I hope that you do not mind. Please give my thanks to this young man and his family for what he is doing for his country and all of us here in the USA. Steve
        Attached Files
        If This HillBilly Can't Fix it Then it Ain't Broke!!!
        My Gallery
        [email protected]

Comment