My DeWalt 788

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My DeWalt 788

I'm not a real beginner, but I think a real neophyte in this magical pastime. Some time ago, I got a whale of a deal on a Dewalt 788 saw. I installed larger clamp knobs and a lift device, and have gotten good, satisfying service from the saw.
    I should never do this, but today, I watched a YouTube video about how to service my saw. I tried it, and it ran quietly until I turned the speed dial to about 90%, and it started rattling like it would fly apart! 😨 For those of you who own and use the 788...Does this mean mine needs repair? It didn't look hard, from the Video, but the parts, bearings and sleeves were all bought from outside sources, which I don't know how to contact. I am ;middling capable with tools, but the Arbor Press is something I will not have a need for ever again, if I try to DIY it. Will it be better to take it to my local service center, and turn it over to their tender mercies, or try to do it myself? Will the ultimate cost be much different? Any advice will be appreciated!. Thanks!

I do not feel you have a problem, virtually all machinery has optimum operating speeds, once you exceed that speed, the vibrations begin to increase. You might find smoother operation with some of the high end scroll saws such as Hawk, Hegner as well as the Pegas. This past February, I had an opportunity to test the Pegas Scroll saw while visiting ArtCrafters in Dayton Tn.

Pegas took EX21 basic design and refined it. The Pegas is a smoother running saw.

My old 788 could not be run at 90% from Day 0ne. Presently my close friend is still using it as it came out of the carton nearly twenty years ago.

Presently I have an EX21, as you increase speed the vibrations increases, once you reach 80% speed wood will vibrate off of the table
    cwmagee
    aka Fibber
    Producer of fancy firewood​

Comment