Deciding on a New Scroll Saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deciding on a New Scroll Saw

I am new to scroll sawing and am in the market for a new saw. When I started looking for a saw, I was thinking I would need to spend somewhere in the $200 to $250 range . . . the more I've looked and studied, the more I've come to prefer something with a little more quality, versatility, durability, and ease of use. I've spent about a month reading reviews, studying you-tube videos, going to stores, etc. The more I look, the higher my budget goes . . . ;o)

My current budget is about $800-$900 (my wife says I need to stop looking . . . ;o).

I am currently considering one of the following options:

Pegas 21
    Excaliber EX 21
    King Industrial 21
    Jet 22

Despite a few minor differences, the top 3 seem to be pretty much the same. Does anyone have experience, preference, or advice on either of these that they would be willing to share, particularly considering this will be my first saw and don't know what I don't know?

My personal preference from the ones you have listed is the Pegas. The main reason It has the best clamps of the bunch. Most folks that have the other 3 have been converting their saws to the Pegas clamps.
    Sandy Oaks (aka Denny) on this forum is a distributor.
    Last edited by Rolf; 02-04-2020, 03:52 PM.
    Rolf
    RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
    Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
    Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
    And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

also take a look at the Seyco 21" larger table.
      The other John A. Nelson
      johnsworkshop.com
      sigpic
      I just follow the lines and make sawdust
      on a Seyco ST-21 and a Yellow DW788

Comment