Confused "newbie", here!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused "newbie", here!

Actually, maybe not a complete noob, but I just upgraded my old Dremel saw that I called "Shaky Jake" to a DeWalt DW788, that I have been coveting for decades! Anyway, while unboxing my new saw, I watched several videos, a couple by an amazing Scrollsaw Guru, who seems to be of the opinion that if a person doesn't disassemble a new saw to component parts and grease all the bearings, the saw may fall apart about the time the warranty expires! Not good!

I don't have the skills or tools, not to mention the patience for such a detailed disassembly. I kept my two former saws going for decades by doing needed maintenance (very little) and lubricating regularly. Reading the DeWalt manual, I see no instructions for doing that. I want to keep my saw going for a long time, so HOW do the scrollers who own DeWalts make them last for years?

Thanx

Welcome to the Yellow machine. While it is true that Dewalt does not load their machines with lots of grease I would not disassemble a machine under warranty. There are no oil spots on a Dewalt. One weak spot is the on/off switch. I would get a foot switch and leave your machine switch in the on position. Good luck and enjoy the upgrade.
    Scott
    Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

I have been scrolling for nearly 14 years and have never disassembled my saw. I originally owned a Dewalt 788 Type 1. the only issue I had was with the On/Off Switch failed. This was no problem as I bypassed the switch and used a foot pedal on/off switch, which is a far more convenient way to scroll.