reversing direction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• reversing direction

I am a newbie and haven't even put a scrollsaw to a piece of wood yet. A friend of mine has and today he asked if I knew a way to reverse the direction of travel at a dead end without cutting a turn in the wood (for example at the end of a narrow leaf). I told him that I remembered seeing another friend show me how to do this about 8 years ago. I THINK he twisted the work piece as the saw was running and the blade and then proceeded up the almost parallel line. Can any one tell us how to do this? Is it dangerous? Thanks for your help.
    Dennis

Hi Dennis, and welcome to the family. I believe that you remember correctly also. If I am understanding you right, that is how it is done. The more you practice this the less noticable it becomes also. Steve
    Last edited by Steviegwood; 03-19-2007, 06:35 PM.
    If This HillBilly Can't Fix it Then it Ain't Broke!!!
    My Gallery
    [email protected]

Comment

Steve is right but it takes practice. Use some scrap wood, cut straight in, then spin the board around without stopping and follow your cut out. Use your finger as a pivot point right at the blade, put the back of the blade against the wood and spin keeping the pressure at the back. Like I said, it will take practice but soon you will be doing it with out even thinking about it.
      Chuck D

When a work lifts your spirits and inspires bold and noble thoughts in you, do not look for any other standard to judge by: the work is good, the product of a master craftsman.
      Jean De La Bruyere...

l
      Hegner 18, Delta p-20, Griz 14 inch Band saw

Comment