Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting Leather

Greetings all:

I am thinking of using a scroll saw to cut leather. The leather I work with is in the 6-7oz range (a little more than the thickness of a nickle). So it is tough to quickly cut with hand tools.

I have zero experience with scroll saws and so I was hoping to get a few questions answered.

1. Can scroll saws be effectively used to cut leather without shredding the leather?

2. What type of blade should be used? The patterns I work with have some turns in them but nothing too tight.

3. I was thinking of the Sears scroll saw. Is this considered a decent saw?

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...seBVCookie=Yes

4. I read in another post about cutting leather with scroll saw, that the poster used a "guard." Is this something that is used to hold your project down so it does not move while being cut?

Thank you all for your comments.
    (btw, my first post!)

~Robert

Great question ! I have no idea if you can cut leather effectively, but see someone is cutting stacks of paper, so why not? I know the guard is generally standard with all saw, I think it's like a federal law although i tossed mine in a drawer, it gets in my way, the hawk guard is way too big. The guard is just like a guard on a sewing machine. It's like two little fingers that press down on your wood as you cut, to help stop it from bouncing upwards, and helps stop fingers from getting into the blade. My old craftsman has a great guard, it's exactly that, two little flexible metal fingers, but my Hawk has a huge akward piece of plastic that does nothing but get in the way.
    Jeff Powell

Comment