Sakura 21" - Good all purpose scroll saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sakura 21" - Good all purpose scroll saw

I found a older 21" Sakura (orange) on a stand that looks to be a very good shape. I believe it is 5 speeds with a belt move. Seems like a pretty solid machine. I know PS wood carries replacement parts - so that is a positive.

I am a general purpose woodworker - not really a scroll sawer. But I thought adding a decent scroll saw to my shop might come in handy from time-to-time. I am planning on making some lamps and clocks and thought I may want to do some cutouts. Figure the scroll saw would might come in handy - and they are not that big. Heck I might even find I really like scrolling

Would the Sakura 21" be a good choice for occasional use as a general purpose scroll saw - since I don't really have a specific scroll saw niche?

Any other scroll sawI should consider for the $225 they are asking for the Sakura?

Before I get too far, I would like to point out that Scroll Saw choice is almost a religious experience for some, and since this particular saw has never reached critical mass, you won't find a lot of folks shouting the praises of this saw. That doesn't mean it isn't good, it just means not a lot of people have gone down that route.

The most expensive saw out there is the Hegner Polymax, and it has a similar belt driven system. I don't think that aspect would scare me. You can look up the pswood saw demonstration on youtube and see how the blade changes work (everything is above the table) and see how easy it is to roll the belt to change speeds.

For $200, I think I would risk it if the saw was in excellent shape. I almost bought one in my area for about that same price a few years back. I have two Hegners, and to me, there is a lot of similarity between those saws. (and that is the kind of comment that will raise the Ire of the Hegner faithful).