Ryobi 16"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ryobi 16"

Does anyone have any comments, pro or con, about the Ryobi 16" scroll saw? Thanks in advance

Well its a cheap junk starter saw I knew somebody that had one, hated it and yes burned it set it on fire he hated so much, might last you years or just weeks. I had a look alike craftsman that last me about a year and it was junk now sits in the shed, in parts. It was either just me using the fire out of it or just cheap was 130 bucks at sears, if you can save up get a EX my first choice, dewalt second, or if you want a hegner or rbi hawk is top of the line.

Comment

Ok to start with if price is right . I have had a single speed roybi for about 20 yrs. It uses both pin and pinless blades. While I had not used it a lot of the years it is ok to get started, not a production machine but good for some basic fun.

Comment

If it's the SC164VS it's a great saw. I've been scrolling regularly for 8 years and that was the only saw I used until October of last year when I purchased the DW 788. It was a great saw for me. I bought one new from Home Depot and bought one used off Craigslist for a backup. The only problem I ever had with mine was the tension rod. I had to replace it 4 or 5 times in 8 years. I actually still have one of the 2 I had. I personally loved it.
        Don

Comment

I have had mine for years and it works just fine. It's a good saw to start with, I have upgraded to an RBI Hawk, but still will use the Ryobi in the basement when it's too cold in the woodshop

Comment

I started with a Ryobi, it is a good saw to learn, but after you master the art of sawing you will want to move up, I have an Excalibur now and it is much better than Ryobi.

I agree with Kragax it is a good saw to start with.

Comment