Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best wood for scrolling

Hello fellow Scrollers,
    I am new to scrolling. And I would like to know what kind of wood is best for scrolling, plywood or solid wood?

I guess that answer would be answered by who you ask and what you are wanting to make. Many use plywood and many solid wood. I only use solid wood because of the beauty of solid wood. The scroll saw does not care as it will cut either just fine.
    My recommendation as you are new is get some cheap wood, pine, cedar, plywood and get used to the saw, blades and following lines. Take it slow and let the blade do the cutting, meaning it will let you know how fast to go. Slow and smooth will provide some good results.
    Welcome too, this is the place to be for knowledge, thats for sure.

Comment

Well this is just my opinion but I prefer solid wood but I also use alot of plywood too but only good quality baltic birch. Like Woodsman said it all really depends on what you are making.
      It's only a mistake if someone saw you do it.

It's not about what saw you drive. It's about the skill you drive it with.

Jim

Comment

What you might be interested to know is that plywood will eat your blades a little quicker than most solid woods...
        And the best wood for a newb is poplar, not pine... I know that's the first wood most folks think of, myself included, but pine has both hard and soft grain and is hard to control. Poplar is more even grained and is more pleasant to cut. It's a little more $$, but worth it in the end.
        By the way, if you're going to cut plywood, look for some quality Baltic Birch ply. Anything less will likely cause frustration. Not something you want when you're starting out....

Looking forward to your work...
        Do post pictures when you get there..We love that here...
        Jim

The limits of the imagination are imaginary.
        No task is too tedious for Art.
        Rock and Scroll

My Gallery

My Website