What type of sanders do you use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What type of sanders do you use?

I'm curious as to what type of sanders you folks use. I have a price range of about $150, and I'm trying to find out what people say are good sanders. I have been thinking about a spindle, oscillating sander, though the reviews are quite mixed.

I figured I would check with the people that do the same types of art that I do and get your opinions. I do have a couple dremels and one that is mounted in a "dremel drill press" station. However this gives me less than one inch worth of sanding and can be quite limiting. Please let me know if anyone has any of these cheaper model sanders that you might be impressed with. I'm looking to get something in the next week. Thanks. Oh by the way, I'm looking to do Intarsia type work. Thanks folks.

I am not experienced enough to answer, but ScrollingDays (think I got that right) recently posted a thread about Intarsia Tools that will have what you want. Lots of input.

EDIT: here it is. The poster was Scrolling Days and here is the thread: http://www.scrollsawer.com/forum/int...tion/47242.htm
    Last edited by SteveK; 12-22-2012, 07:26 AM.
    Steve in Richmond, VA with a DW-788

Comment

Steve's link is perfect. My favorite tool for intarsia, actually 2, Pneumatic drum sander and my Jet spindle sander.
      Rolf
      RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
      Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
      Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
      And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

I have a dedicated motor for my sanding mops....I also have a ridgid oscillating spindle sander which is at least 10 years old and going strong, several palm sanders, a random orbital sander, a 1" belt sander with a 5" disc on the side, a belt sander, emery boards and tons of sand paper.
        Attached Files