X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Raw beginner questions

Hi all,

Great web site.

I am pretty new to the scroll side of the wood business. I bought a Delta 16" 2-speed about 10 years ago. Have not used it much (did not know what the possibilities were). Not real impressed with the saw btw (you get what you pay for). I went to the Dayton carver show last weekend and was very impressed. Came away with a lot of ideas and inspiration. Trying right now to decide between a Delta P-20, Dewalt 788 and the EX-21. Not a huge difference in price.

Questions:
    Ordering blades. I know different blades have different purposes, but what are a few good general purpose blades that I could cut my teeth on (pardon the pun) till I really learn what I am doing?

Is the upper clamp on the P-20 different from the clamp on my current Delta? They look the same. My current upper clamp came apart and is a p.i.t.a.

Thanks for you patience.

Steve - Toledo, OH
    RBI Hawk 220VS FD Blades

my go to blade is...

a #5 skip tooth...I use it to cut all my 3/4 inch wood for intarsa...

Trout
    Hawk G-4 Jetcraft
    Fish are food, not friends!

Comment

Mike at Mikesworkshop.com has helped a lot of peopole get started and has introduced them to varieties of his Flying Dutchman blades. Get ahold of him. Pegas blades are also good. Those two kinds are, I think, the best. A #5 is fine to start, a #2 for thinner cuts (1/4" and less).

I'm a big DeWalt fan. I don;t know how you can do better for the price. Shop around. You should be able to find one for just over $400.

Good luck....Carter

Comment