cutting puzzles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cutting puzzles

I'm fairly new to scrolling about 6 months.I recently started cutting puzzles (solid wood ) a few times I have had a couple pieces that won't slide both ways IE front or back.I've checked that table is sq to blade i have a porter cable scroll saw and im using fd-psr#5 blades.is there something I'm doing wrong.

Hi, JCR and welcome to the forum!

It sounds like the blade is bowing when you cut: even though it was square at rest, pressure push it out of square while cutting. This can be caused by several things. Make sure your tension is high enough. Feed the wood slowly so that the blade can finish the cut without pushing back (especially while turning), and take care not to push sideways against the blade.

If you look closely where the pieces bind you should be able to see where they aren't vertical.

If you'd like to post some pictures we'd love to see what you've been making!

--Rob

Comment

Proper tension is really important. Make sure the blade responds with a high-C sound when you pluck it, also, it shouldn't bend more than about an 1/8th-inch if you push against the side of it.

It took me a little practice to learn not push the piece to the side when I was cutting corners. I took some 1/2-inch & 3/4-inch scrap and drew some circular patterns on it and practiced quite a bit. But, once you learn it - it will be forever.

Good luck and we really need pictures so see how you are doing.

Tony
      The good woodworker does not craft the wood for honor. He uses his craft to honor the wood.

Comment