Question about basswood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about basswood

I don't yet know much about buying wood stock but I had an idea to get the wife interested in my scroll saw projects. Being an artist I thought I would get her started on wood burning some detail into things. No such luck. The wood grain made it turn out badly and she got frustrated really fast. She decided instead to paint stuff. Then I found out that wood burning is done mostly on basswood, I believe.
    So, I looked up some basswood and was disappointed to find it only in such small pieces, well, small to me. I've looked and searched and can only find it in about 12 inch wide sheets. To me a "sheet" ought to be more like 48 inches.

So teach me guys; why only such small pieces. Small trees? Too much demand? Demand from higher paying clients? What is it?

P. S. I'm sure if I was willing to pay the price I could get any size I wanted, but that's just the skeptic in me talking.

By "sheet" I'm assuming your looking for plywood? I don't know that I've ever seen basswood ply. Only basswood I've seen is actual boards - which your going to be hard-pressed to find in wider than 12".
    Basswood is very easy to work with, not alot of grain to worry about and cuts really easily.

Comment

Basswood is 'real wood' in that it comes from the Linden tree. The trunks of the tree are cut into slabs like all other popular wood,( Oak, Cherry, Maple, Birch, etc.). Its used for carving and model building as well as wooden blinds for windows. Its light weight and holds detail well making it a good wood for scrolling. Its also pretty cheap as woods go, making it a good choice for experimenting. Light weight makes it a good choice for large wall hung pieces. If you need wider than 12" then gluing pieces side by side will work.

Comment