Smoking and Squaring the table

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoking and Squaring the table

So I had to replace a defective saw this week. On the first one I had tried to square the table using a 12" square and level. I don't have a machinists 2" square and am not sure even where to look for one since I am a beginner.
    As I sat and pondered a better solution to the squaring, I lit up a smoke. That's when I realized the pack, new one, boxed Marlboro's, was square and just about the right size.
    I checked it against a couple of squares I had handy and sure enough it was on the money. I set it up against the blade and adjusted the table, made a cut or two and found it was right.
    I know you're not supposed to smoke but it came in kind of handy this time. Maybe someone else can use this tip. Probably won't work with soft packs though.

I use a piece of 3/4" wood. Cut about 1/8" into it and than try to put it in the back of the blade. That is the easiest way for me.
    FD Mike
    SD Mike

Comment

Use an old credit card. They are free and dead on.
      "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
      Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Smoking and Scrollsawing. Maybe a new ad for Surgeon General. "he lit up near the saw and the cloud of dust exploded!"

Smoking Kills

Hehe
        Steve in Richmond, VA with a DW-788

Comment

Cutting a slot maybe 1/8 deep in a piece of wood works to square up a blade. Cut the slot then try to fit it in the back edge of the blade. If it doesn't fit, move the table 1/2 of the offset, then try it again. The best method I use is a cheap clear plastic protractor about 6" wide and 3" tall. Set it behind the blade move the table until the center mark and the 90 degree mark line up on the blade. To double check, turn the protractor around and verify that that reading is the same. That"s as close to 90 as you can get for a buck.

Comment