Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First project

Hi everyone,
    I've been carving for a while and figured I should try my hand at scrolling. What would you all suggest for a first project? I'm a definate newbie at scrolling....

Bob
    www.GrobetUSA.com

Re: First project

How about cutting out the profile of a 'spoon' then if you don't like scrolling, you can always finish carving the spoon LOL

Comment

Good idea...That way I won't waste wood
      www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

Bob

I do not know how much experience you have but you can go to the basics and get a kids coloring book and make copies of some of the animals and other things in there and make Christmas ornamates. If you are passed that then try any of the small clock patterns offer at Wildwood designs. Jump right in the scrolling is fine.
        John T.

Comment

Thanks John. I'm actually going to a local scrolling club meeting next Tuesday...just to get my feet wet before jumping in.

I have access to all kinds of patterns here--thanks to my job, but I guess it is a little intimidating...

Bob
          www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

all kinds of patterns ??? Geez...pass'em around LOL :P

Comment

Hi Ho,
              I'm getting an article ready on free pattern sites. Here are a few teasers:

• Gary Browning’s Web site: http://www.angelfire.com/md2/creativewood/freeart.htm. Gary, a frequent contributor to SSW, has posted some of his patterns on the Web for free. Some have appeared in SSW in the past, but there are some other patterns as well.
              • Denny Taylor’s Web site: http://artisticwood.tripod.com/. In addition to posting a gallery of his scroll saw work and turnings, Denny has uploaded several of his portrait patterns for the general scrolling public.