Safety Precautions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Safety Precautions

I am new to woodworking, scrolling, and I am a diabetic. Safety is a major concern. I Googled and read several articles and watched a video on YouTube about scroll saw safety. I carry my cell phone with me, and made a small First Aid kit and stashed it in near my saw and sanding area. Are there any other precautions I should take?

Originally posted by SawingSue View Post
    I am new to woodworking, scrolling, and I am a diabetic. Safety is a major concern. I Googled and read several articles and watched a video on YouTube about scroll saw safety. I carry my cell phone with me, and made a small First Aid kit and stashed it in near my saw and sanding area. Are there any other precautions I should take?
    Protection from breathing sawdust is a major safety issue. Please wear a dust mask and use a dust collection system of some kind when you are woodworking. We have had members here with serious health issues as a result of not protecting themselves from inhaling sawdust particles.

Nancy in AZ
    A clean house is a sign of a broken scroll saw!

Comment

And aside what was afore mentioned, Scrolling is probably the safest tool in the shop.
      You would have to want to cut yourself with it.
      It's pretty mild. I scroll with my fingers right up to the blade sometimes, when I'm doing small details.
      Jim

The limits of the imagination are imaginary.
      No task is too tedious for Art.
      Rock and Scroll

My Gallery

My Website
      Featherwood Woodcrafts

Comment

You would have to really go out of your way to do any damage with a scroll saw. I often have fingers in contact with the blade and I don't notice until it gets a little warm.
        I had to chuckle when I read your post. Check out my post, it'll be there in a little while.
        May the wind at you back .....
        Not be from Lunch.

Don't take life too seriously; No one gets out alive.