Blades and speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blades and speed

I have a Delta shopmaster and new to scrolling. I'm working on the "shalom" puzzle and keep breaking blades. I'm making it out of 3/4 " Walnut. Any suggestions on speed, blade, TENSION, ETC? tHANKS

I would reccommend a blade at least a number 5 size.For a beginner, a blade without reverse teeth will work better for you,as the sawdust will clear the cut easier, making less friction then compared to a reverse tooth blade. Blade quality is probably a big issue, as your probably using the crappy blades supplied with the saw.Even still, walnut isnt THAT hard, you should be able to do it. On 3/4 thick, you can run the saw fullspeed, but just run it at the speed you feel most comfortable with.ith experience, you can speed it up without even thinkin about it. As for tension, I always say go as tight as you think, then a little more. To tight of a blade isnt really an issue, but to loose a blade, and you have all sorts of troubles.Also, be sure to only steer the wood with the saw running to avoid twisting the blade.
    Relax, take your time, and have fun with it. And remember, its just a piece of wood until you are happy with the cutting, if it doesnt turn out as expected, grab another piece and try it again, because you CAN do it! Dale
    Dale w/ yella saws

Comment

When I first started, I broke a lot of blades. I remember thinking "This was a 5 blade project". Well, now days I rarely break blades, and they are mostly because I bent them while inserting them in the holes.

Keep the blade as tight as you can. If you notice the blade doesn't cut very well, time for a new one. They can dull quickly. Also, if you notice that the direction of feed changes on a blade, time for a new one. this can be caused by several things, but I seem to do it when I start turning too quickly or have side pressure on the blade.