Keep old saw or new one?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keep old saw or new one?

I came home yesterday with a new Ryobi 16" scroll saw ... the $120 version ... then discovered I had, tucked away, an old (maybe 20 yrs.) Buffalo 15" scroll saw in a storage box. However, no manual! I'm a newbie with scrolling, so will definitely need a manual. Any suggestions where I can get a manual? IF I can, will the Buffalo serve me well, or should I just go with the new one? I'm attaching a photo of what I'm planning to work on.
    Attached Files

Hooooooeeeee!!! thats quite a pattern to start with.....I do have a Ryobi and have had NO trouble with it...( 5-6 yrs. old ) there are better ones out there but at the time i had minimal cash on hand .i tried some of the other lower priced (budget ) machines and most were lacking on various different functions...everyone kids me about my choice but i guess i got a GOOD one...would deffinatly buy it again if given the choice or the need.
    no viabration to speak of and a local dealer can get parts ( a lot in stock )..easy to bottom feed.....just take off the side panel for finger clearance and the hold down and all is good.....I bought a couple extra clamps...very cheap and both top and bottom are the same......they cost about 2 bucks per unit....i am still useing the original ones............will take both pinned and pinnless blades..........Have fun with your new toy, and we wanna see some pics. of your project as it developes.......
    Dave

Comment

WOW, Dave you are right, that is quite a venture, with any saw ! I don't know anything about the Ryobi saw, but, I don't know if I would venture out on that limb with my DeWalt. Good Luck Don.
      PERK

Comment

Post some pictures of the Buffalo. A google search didn't find the saw in question.