Dab

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dab

Hello, I'm a newbie. I've had my scroll saw for a couple of weeks now, and have really enjoyed it. I'm having a problem with my projects doing a lot of bouncing around (up and down) though. What am I doing wrong or what do I need to do? I have started out with some small things like star, heart, ghost, leaves, snowman. Any advice is appreciated.

Welcome to the forum.

You may want to check your blade and make sure that the teeth are facing down.
    If the teeth are pointing up they will lift the wood off the table.
    The hold down will stop wood from bouncing but most scrollers remove it shortly after they get their saws.

I find it is more important to apply a downward pressure to the wood than it is to push the wood through the blade. After awhile you will get a feel for just how much pressure to apply, both in the downward motion and then with pressing it to the blade.

Hope this helps, Carl
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Dab

Thank so much for your quick reply. I did put the hold down part on my saw, and it does help. My blade teeth are facing down. I have cut some things with little problem with bouncing, but some things, even going very slowly, seem to bounce a lot. Could it be a difference in the type of wood? Thanks again for you help.

Comment

Chatter

What you are experiencing is called "chatter". I think all of us had that problem to some extent when we first started scrolling. I still do occasionally if the wood has a little warp and isn't laying flat on the table surface or when cutting a tight radius with an aggressive (higher numbered) blade. Just keep practicing with simple cuts and turns and you'll soon find that the problem will go away. Welcome to the group!!!!
        If it don't fit, don't force it....get a bigger hammer!!

Comment

Dbonner