creating portraits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• creating portraits

Hi yall this is my first post since I joined didnt think I had any questions that wasnt answered by old post. Then my pastor just called me tonight and wanted to see if I could saw him a portrait to give to a family member for christmas well I havent cut a portrait before since I am new to scrolling so I said let me do a little research my question is there a place on the web that I can down load free app that takes a picture and makes it a pic that can be cut. I dont want to buy softwear if cutting portraits isnt going to work for me. thanks for any guidance yall have.

Joe (saw it all)

The short answer is no. What you need to do is have a picture that is not copyrighted.

Place the pic in the scroll saw pattern request forum and ask for assistance in getting a pattern made.

Then you can cut out the pattern and post a picture of the finished project along with a big thank you for the designers here who made you the pattern. You can also look up former threads regarding how to learn to create your own patterns but it is not a simple process and it does take time.

I hope that helps you get started down the right path to creating this project for your pastor.

Welcome to the forum,.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

You can always post and see what our good friends will do. I have seen some awesome portraits.

If you want to do you own, there is are good lessons using Gimp at

Village University • Scroll Saw Village

There also instructions using Paint Shop Pro at

Arpop's Pattern Academy

Good luck and I hope you post your results.

Don
      Don McFarland ​Member - Durham Woodworking Club http://www.durhamwoodworkingclub.com/

Comment

thanks and a picture of my first piece