Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excalibur 16 Tension Question

Hi.
    I am fairly new to scrolling. I recently bought the EX-16. I was doing some work last night and had some issues with the blade (reverse 12) breaking and bending. Foolishly I turned the knob at the back of the saw. After reading several posts and watching some videos on Youtube, I realize that I probably didn't have to adjust the knob at the back. All that said, can someone with an EX-16, who hasn't adjusted the knob at the back, please tell me what the factory default setting is? I'm thinking this could be discovered by measuring the distance of the bottom of the top blade holder to the top of the table?
    I would appreciate any help or advice that you have.
    Thanks!
    New Dog

Tighten a blade in the blade holders, place a piece of square wood at the rear of the blade . Turn on your saw and adjust the back knob until you see the blade running as close to straight up and down as possible while looking at the blade from the side.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Thanks Mike.
      I'll give that a try.
      Sharla

Comment

I'm new with my Ex-16 and it is my understanding is that you initially adjust the knob on top back so that the arm is parallel to table. The front to back movement is adjusted by turning the motor a little if necessary. I have seen that very minor tention adjustment can be made by that knob.

Regis
        An old beginner leaping in.

Pleased with my new EX-16.

Comment

Regis is right.
          I have just purchased the same saw (1 month ago) and I noticed lot's of back to front movement, here is what I did to fine tune it:
          1. Loosen the 3 screws holding the motor
          2. Get a square piece of wood that will fit against the back of the blade
          3. Apply the normal tension on the blade
          4. Turn the speed to the lowest