Blade alignment from the side

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blade alignment from the side

Hi, this is my first time on this forum. Ive been scroll sawing for a couple of weeks and im hooked!

I do have a question, and I hope im not being too rude by asking, as a brand new member!

I am using a Peugeot scroll saw, and a random pack of plain end blades from my local hardware store (Im currently waiting for a delivery of the highly recommended Flying Dutchman blades).

I have aligned my blade perfectly when facing from the front, and when the machine is running, I see a crisp black line where the blade is. The same is not true however, when I look from the side. Is this normal? It seems as though the arms holding the blade are not moving perfectly vertical?

Thanks!

First welcome aboard.
    Yes some saws you will see a back and forth motion when looking at the side of the blade. Some saws this can be adjusted other saws this is not the case. Until you decide to upgrade your saw it is something you will need to learn how compensate for. It just takes getting used to the aggressive cut.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Many thanks, I wasn't sure if I was installing the blades wrong, or the machine had a fault.

Comment

It is the machine....
        "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
        Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment