Stacking basics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stacking basics

I am very new at scroll saw. I have a pattern for 4 sided box like vase. Front and back are same and both sides are same. I'd like to stack the 2 and cut together but, I really don't know how. Read comments here about taping or tacking or gluing but, am not sure which is for pattern only or stacking. I'm using 1/8 cedar plywood for this but, have other stock if that's important. Pattern has both inside and outside cuts with plenty of detail but, no real fragile/thin areas.

Appreciate any helpful info.
    Regis
    An old beginner leaping in.

Pleased with my new EX-16.

Regis I myself brad nail the corners of my work when stack cutting 2 3 4 or even 5 pieces at once , some the guys here like using the clear package tape . If you do brad nail just make sure and grind the nail ends off if the nails are to long - of course you'll nail in the waste area.......I use this brad nail when stack cutting when I'm cutting Christmas ornaments ........
    Usually busier than a cat in a sandbox !!!!!!!!!!! MB { Dewalt 788 only }

Comment

Then, for this thin sack, would a staple in each corner do the same. Or?
      Thanks

Originally posted by marshall View Post
      Regis I myself brad nail the corners of my work when stack cutting 2 3 4 or even 5 pieces at once , some the guys here like using the clear package tape . If you do brad nail just make sure and grind the nail ends off if the nails are to long - of course you'll nail in the waste area.......I use this brad nail when stack cutting when I'm cutting Christmas ornaments ........

Comment

If it holds it tight it may , you'll just have to be the judge , in this it's a lot of time trail and error . Your going to have to find your comfort zone , and your way of doing it . I know you may not have a brad nailer , some use double faced tape and it may also aid you too . Wouldn't hurt to use both ...........