Back to Basics - getting frustrated!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Back to Basics - getting frustrated!

I used to play the saxophone in school. When I went to high school, even though I had been playing for four years, the first thing my music teacher did was to begin with the basic book. When asked why, he told us that you most likely have developed bad habits and may never have learned correctly to begin with.

I decided to take the same approach with scrolling. I have never been a good scroller and have never done anything really challenging. I started going through John Nelson's book to make sure my techniques were correct.

I am having a problem with the butterfly. I have made about 10 of them over the last couple of days. Each time, I cut the second antenna really poorly. I just don't seem to be able to stay on the line with the small circle cutting in a counter clockwise direction. The blade always tracks inside the line- even when I anticipate it. Since that is wrong, the rest of the antenna always comes out much thinner than the other one.

I have the fretwork down pat, tight corners and accurate cutting, but I can never get this one part done correctly. I should wait to post this when I can put up a picture but I am frustrated. If anyone is familiar with this pattern and can lend some advice I would appreciate it.

I am using a #5 Rev. skip tooth blade on 3/4 oak. Ran out of pine ( I always have some around) and had some scraps of oak available.

I keep giving them to my daughter who liked the first one. She says she really only needs one but would appreciate one with two antenna. (She inherited her mothers subtle sarcasm.)
    Dan

-Just do'in the best I can every day

I know when I am scrolling the wood and blade combination will react differently depending on the direction I am cutting.

Like you said