What makes patterns advanced

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What makes patterns advanced

Looking at patterns from Berry Basket and they say that the projects are for the advanced scroller.

I am new to the hobbie but it seems like if you can cut 90's, V, straight, curves ect you should be able to cut any pattern. Am I just naive or am I missing something?

I do know that a person who has been doing this for 20 years can do much better work than someone with only 1 year into it.

I hope you all get what I am trying to say and not step on any toes.

Advance patterns are normally patterns that take more time than most. Large clocks, and such. Experienced scrollers just cut them faster... My second pattern I purchased was and Advance pattern clock 29 inches tall.... Took for ever for me to cut it. But I have sped up a lot now that I have a few years under my belt.
    Last edited by walnut; 09-25-2011, 02:39 PM.

Comment

If you are willing to take on a project just go for it. They are all one cut at a time. Whether it is really detailed fretwork or a simple silhouette, it is still one cut at a time. So go for it. Advanced does denote a certain level of experience and complexity to a project.
      "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
      Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

I agree with mike. If you think you can do it, then go for it. I don't judge a pattern by what it is rated, but rather if I want to take the time to do it.
        Steve Good did a review of the Berry Basket advanced clocks. He rated them intermediate. Here is the link. Scroll down to "Daily posts starts here": www.scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com
        Dan in So.Ca.

Comment

Trackman - I think its a good question and well worth an airing.