Tips For Using A Scroll Saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips For Using A Scroll Saw

Hello. I am a student in a wood shop class. The project we are doing requires us to cut intricate curves on the top of a shelf. I have used a scroll saw before but I have made several mistakes on my last project with it. :-[ The teacher requires us to use the scroll saw to cut the curves, so I am wondering if any one has any useful tips on how to cut the curves out nice. Please. :'( I really love my wood shop class and I would like to pass it.

Re: Tips For Using A Scroll Saw

I am no expert with a scroll saw, but I suggest you drill more holes to realign the blade in and cut to the outside of the line.

Most important, take your time and remember you can back up a little and restart a cut.

Without knowing your exact problems, it is difficult to suggest a correct course of action.

Comment

Add to what Rick has said, just don't rush the process. If you feed slowlyy ou won't have to make as many 'corrections' as you go along, resulting in a much smoother kerf. That requires less sanding when finishing and gives a more consistant cut. Might help to make a few practice pieces to get the feel of the saw, and how you react to the cutting process. Most woodworkers and carvers that I know work a few practice pices on almost everything they do at least until they get comfortable with a particular tool or process.

Al

Comment

The only thing I can add is to leave the line on the wood when you cut and use a rasp to smooth out the wood. Good lighting and feed the wood to the blade very slow. If you're having a problem making tight turns, turn off the saw, get a file and smooth off the edges of the back of the blade, this will help keep the blade from snagging your work!
        My Site Missouri Ozarks

Comment