No announcement yet.

Many material questions (I'm a newbie)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Many material questions (I'm a newbie)

Hi all,

(Sorry if these questions are answered in other threads)

I just gave myself a birthday gift: a DW788 (It's a type 2 )

Now I see that I need to "accessorize" ( I like gadgets, what can I say).

Where do you purchase your stuff? Any Canadian Suppliers?

I want to purchase the following items:
    The easy lift (to lift the upper arm for blade changes)
    A foot pedal (Power switch)
    Blades holder and tubes (the acrylic holder with indexed tubes that close)

and of course blades
    I would like to try different ones I've been reading about:
    Olson, Pegas(?), FD

Are the sanding strips that go in the blade holder worth it?
    Which are best?

I have a magnifier with bulb (thinking of the Luxo with Fluorescent), a DC, a small drum sanding kit, Press drill, bandsaw.

Anything else you may think I need?

What books do you recommend for a complete beginner?

Thanks in advance,
    Marcel
    http://marleb.com
    DW788. -Have fun in the shop or it isn't a hobby anymore.

NOTE: No trees were killed in the sending of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

Where to begin

Marcel, first congrats on the saw.

Begin with a piece of wood and purchase some blades from local dealers if possible. You will find there is a long standing blade debate on this forum, but it is important for you to try a number of brands and some may be easily purchased online or locally.