Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good beginner saw?

Hello!
    I'm bran new to the world of scroll saws. I've had some experience with a band saw, but as an artist I'm am interested in learning to use, what appears to be, a more detail oriented scroll saw. Any suggestions on an affordable beginners saw?

This is an age old question on the site,
    Some people feel buy the best saw you can afford. others will tell you to buy a saw that suites your budget.

When buying a saw, look for one that will take "pinless" blades.
    I prefer having one that doesn't use tools to change the blade.
    A variable speed is also preferred.

The capacity of the saw is based on the length of the neck. 16 inches tends to be the most common size.

Turn on the saw with a blade set at the correct tension. Check it out for vibration. The less the vibration the less fatiguing the saw will be to use.
    Also look closely at the blade, it should move up and down with very little side play.

Pricing of saws varies from $100 to $1500. and although they all do the same thing, move the blade up and down, you will notice a huge difference in the quality.

I have been scrolling for 10 years now and started out with a $150 Delta saw, It served me well,
    I needed more throat in the saw and stepped up to an 18" Ryobi, which suites me just fine.
    Many scrollers on this site prefer the Dewalt, which is considerably cheaper in the US than its $600 price tag here in Canada.

There are several upper end model saws out there, I can't really comment on them because I haven't used them,

Others will surely jump in with comments when they read this post.

Hope this was some help
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Not me Carl
      John T.

Comment