Which blade for a young scroller

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which blade for a young scroller

I am fairly new to scrolling but have a lot of woodworking experience. My 12 year old daughter has recently expressed interest in scrolling some Christmas ornaments.

I use skip tooth blades. She was getting frustrated with staying on the line with these blades. They seem way to agressive for her.

I think a less agressive blade and slow cuttng speed would be less frustrating for her. Any suggestions.
    Dan

-Just do'in the best I can every day

It may be worth it to drop down to a regular-tooth blade and slow the saw down. But as frustrating to a pre-teen as it may be, practice is the only way to consistantly stay on the line. Scrolling guru John Nelson reccomends that beginners start with skip-tooth blades...

It might also be worth dropping down to a smaller-sized blade, which will also cut slower.

Bob Duncan
    Scroll Saw Workshop
    www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

Your ideas plus put two of more pieces of BB together and then cut. I started out doing single sheet projects years ago and found only the Hegner scrolls saw would let me do it.

Comment

I sorry bmwbob. What is "BB"?
        Dan

Comment

it's an abbreviation for Baltic Birch, the standard plywood many scrollers use.
          Bob
          www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

Owler, try a 2/0 28 t.p.i (teeth per inch) reverse tooth blade and run the saw at a slow or medium speed. Tell your daughter that staying on the line comes with practice, if she goes off the line come back to the line gradually rather than abruptly. Mick.
            Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment