just starting out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• just starting out

i am just starting out and would like to know what is the best scroll saw to use. i dont have a lot of money but did see this one brand by the name of " RYOBI " at a home depot near my house. is that a good one to start with?

Hookupman--
    I can guarantee you are going to get a jillion opinions/recommendations in answer to your question. You didn't say how much you want to spend on a saw and that makes a difference. I've given this advice before and I will do so again--just about any of the "better" saws are good: DeWalt, Hegner, Excaliber, RBI, etc. "Good" saws usually run between $500-$2000. They all have the "bells and whistles" like 20-30" throats, variable speeds, tilting tables, good tension controls, etc. I personally use an RBI Hawk. I have, however, been looking at the new Excaliber with the tilting arm at $750. I am not familiar with Ryobi scroll saws. They make pretty good construction-grade power tools, but the scroll saw is on a level with Sears Craftsman, Dremel, and a few others of that ilk. Now I will get all kinds of flack because I have said what I have. Listen to all these folks and then take it with a grain of salt and buy what is best for you.
    Moon
    Old Mooner

Comment

If you're just starting out and are really serious about scrolling, invest in the best you can afford.
      I started with a $99.00 Craftsman, then bought a used Delta from a friend. (He upgraded to an RBI and hasn't used it in years) Last year I bought a new DeWalt and am very happy with it.
      As you will soon see, everyone will have their own opinion on the various makes and models.
      Fred

There's a fine line between woodworking and insanity, I'm just not sure which side of the line I'm on!

Comment