SSW Issue #20 Stack of Seagulls Whats my Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SSW Issue #20 Stack of Seagulls Whats my Problem

Im pretty new to scrollsaws, Although ive made my share of sawdust in the past with other tools....
    Sent for the free issue of SSW magizine weeks back and Got my Issue 20 the other day, the project :

"Stack of Seagulls
    by John Fleig
    This challenging compound cut project is more detailed that it looks. "
    This project Cought my eye, I was thinking that only just 2 cuts could produce this project how in the world could i mess that up?
    Well never the less i did it...

proceedure:
    Digging through the scraps i found a chunk of red oak just big enough to accomidate the pattern,
    with tacky glus i bonded the pattern on the wood then covered it with packaging tape, as i progressed through the steps..

to my supprise when i was done and opened up the tape i had 2 gulls standing on each other and a pile of loose ones. instead of them standing on each others backs like the picture ?

The blade was a vermont, fine toothed spirial cutting blade .25-30 thousands i cant see good enough to count the teeth,,guess is 24 teeth per inch, (Old eyes) and i ran the dremel 1680-16" at a medium to slow speed.. i had no scorching and stayed close on the pattern lines, leaving the ink.. The blade tention was as tight as i dare turn, "I broke a few lately"...
    but i was getting some blade bending backward from having to add more feed pressuer in the direction of the cut to make the blade make any progress through the thick hard red oak......

Can anybody tell me what i did wrong,
    to get these loose flock of seagulls

I was really wanting to make this one,
    Dremel 1680 & Delta ss250 shopmaster

Seagulls

I think the biggest problem with compound cutting is blade tension and selection.
    I havent seen the aattern yet but I think I know the problem
    If the blade bows at all the lines will not be true.