New to scroll sawing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to scroll sawing

Ok I am very new to scroll sawing. I read that some or all of you do not take the blade out of the top & bottom.. What I cant figure out is if I take just the top out how do you put the blade in the next "little" drill hole without bending the blade to almost 90. It is very hard for me to find the next drill hole.by that time I could have taken it out of the bottom.Does that make sense? Thanks for any help..

Rob

I don't know what type of saw you use but on my Dremel the throat plate (the little removable disk in the table) is slotted in two different directions which enables you to angle the blade forward for easier bottom to top feeding.( I think most saws are the same in this regard)

The big thing is just not getting overly aggressive when feeding the blade through the bottom of your wood. One thing I do to make for a smoother feed is after I drill my pilot holes I go back over the back of my work with the sander to remove any little burrs that my blade may snag on. By doing this you have a nice clean shot at the pilot hole and it goes in with no efforts.

Practice, practice, practice, over time you'll get a system down and you'll wonder why this ever gave you a problem. Good luck.
    Todd

Hawk G4, Dremel 1800

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

Comment

Keep at it, it will get easier to find the holes. Comes with practice. As to haveing to bend the blade, on most saws the lower blade clamp will pivot forward and backward and the slot in the table allows for this movement. Hang in there, it'll get easier.

Comment