Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy From NE Oregon

Hi,

I am new to scroll sawing but have been woodworking and metal working since childhood. Woodworking started with balsa airplanes, guided by my father, when I was about 5. As a teenager, he had me build a Sabot sailboat. He put me to work in his machine shop when I was in high school. I have a fairly nice machine shop for metalworking, but do not have any machine tools for woodworking yet (planer, jointer, wood lathe, etc.), just sanders, drill press, bandsaw and hand power tools.

I'd never considered scroll sawing until I wanted to make puzzles for my granddaughter. She has been loving my first puzzle (a nested bunny/baby bunny) and every practice piece I've done. She sits at the saw with me, collecting all the scraps.

I recently moved to a tiny ranching community in NE Oregon to be near my granddaughter. Great place, I love it

Rick
    Haflway, OR
    Last edited by Rick Kr; 06-12-2018, 12:27 AM. Reason: If you want nice, clean, fresh oats, you must pay a fair price. However, if you can be satified with oats that have already been through the horse, that comes a bit cheaper.
    "If you want nice, clean, fresh oats, you must pay a fair price. However, if you can be satisfied with oats that have already been through the horse, that comes a bit cheaper."

Rick, welcome over here. I have the hull, centerboard, rudder, built on a little mini-cup sail boat sitting in my garage.. I need one more sanding of the epoxy and then paint on the haul them build the mast. I started it a little over 10 years ago!! So close but I hate, HATE , sanding and working with epoxy. Still I keep thinking, I will get it done one day. Days are running out.... got to do it. I built it using an old plan out of Popular Mechanics magazine.
    AKA Paul from Washington State

Comment