Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New From NW Mississippi

Trying this again:

Hi, my name is Hank Lee; I am kinda new to scroll saw woodworking. Looking forward to interacting, asking questions, and learning some finer tricks of the art. I am also semi-retired, meaning my part time work is almost full time. I have been around woodworking, and using woodworking tools as kid growing up in the '50s. My first venture in scroll saw was in Japan in the late '80s and early '90s. I purchased, on a whim, a cheap Sears scroll saw, a bunch of blades and took them to Japan where I worked for 26 years. I used it to cut out Japanese Kanji patterns in wood for friends and also to make puzzles. I found patterns from where ever I could or made my own. The saw got lost after a couple of moves.

A week ago, my wife pushed me to get into scroll saw woodworking after seeing some patterns in a few books at the Springfield, MO, Grizzly warehouse store. (Daughter lives near and works in Springfield, MO.) She even offered to buy me a scroll saw, if I would do some projects for her. I agreed and she did purchase a DeWalt last week, (and I have some questions about it later.)

My interests, and LOML's request are in several areas: signs and name plates, fret work, intarsia and toys for grandkids.

(Wow, It finally let me post.)
    Last edited by leehljp; 02-19-2016, 06:46 AM. Reason: (Surprised it let me post after several days.)
    Hank Lee
    Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted.

Welcome Hank. Scrolling is very addictive and it will draw you in so sit back and enjoy the ride.
    Scott
    Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

Welcome to the forum!
      Rolf
      RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
      Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
      Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
      And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment