New in St Louis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New in St Louis

I'm completely new to this wonderful artform. I have been a calligrapher for about 25 years. Yes, believe it or not, I find great beauty in the letter P.

I'm very interested in what type of saw to buy for my first one, preferably under $150, or can a good one be had for that price. Also, the advisability of factory refurbished for a better saw for less money.

Also, any type of clubs that I could plug into or individuals in the St Louis area.

God bless,
    John

Welcome. I saw a dremel 20" in my paper for $100. I think that's a good buy, alot of people seem to like the dremel which is probably your best buy at a lower price range. Otherwise, a good saw is likely to cost 400 or more.
    Hope your power is back on.
    Jeff Powell

Comment

Try www.saw-online to check for local scrolling clubs. Dale
      Dale w/ yella saws

Comment

Welcome to the forum. I am new to this forum and to scrolling too. I also have a Dremel H3816 that I found on Ebay from someone locally. It was in nearly new condition and doesn't look like it had been used very much. As for factory refurbished items, I have several items that were factory refurbished and have had no problems. In fact I have had more problems with brand new than I have with refurbished.
        Bill

I have an RBI Hawk 220-3 VS

Visit my Gallery
        and website www.billswoodntreasures.com

Comment

Welcome, John. I use a Craftsman 16" Variable speed, cost about $149. You don't have to get started with a higher end saw. I like mine just fine. Look at my profile to see my website and you can get an idea of what even an inexpensive saw can do.
          Mike

Craftsman 16" VS, Puros Indios and Sam Adams!
          Scrollin' since Jun/2006

My Gallery

http://scrollcrafters.com (reciprocal links welcomed)

Comment