Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fresh in from London

Hi all

My name is Chris and I am completely new to scrollsaw - I'm a Brit, living in London, approaching the big 50, and looking for a new hobby - in particular, hoping to get into puzzle cutting.

What saw do I own? Well, I asked around for advice and most of the advice amounted to "spend a lot more than you planned and buy something good" so I'm holding fire until closer to Christmas when hopefully one or two clients might have paid their bills with old-fashioned folding money.

In the meantime, I decided to build one. Just to play with. Just to feed the need. Out of Meccano (the UK version of Erector) which is another of my hobbies, and the first pass was up and running and cutting at a Meccano club meeting yesterday. Assuming I can work the attachments thingy, here it is.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by chrispuzzle; 11-18-2006, 09:19 PM. Reason: Messed up attachment first time
    "If you march your Winter Journeys you will have your reward, so long as all you want is a penguin's egg."

Saws: AWSF18, Meccano Mk II

Oh boy... wait till Carl sees that!

Welcome to the forum, Chris. You're going to fit in well .

Gill
    There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.
    (Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Comment

Welcome to the forum, Chris. Nice to see another Brit on here.

That is an amazing Meccano creation you have there but does it cut anything?

Ian
      Ian

Scrolling with a Dewalt 788

Comment

Hi Gill - Nice to hear from you again! As you might have noticed if you were watching, one reason for building the Meccano Scroll Mk 1 is that I missed out on the eBay Diamond...