Howdy Ya'll

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howdy Ya'll

Newbie here. just bought a craftsman 16" variable speed and have tried a couple of patterns. I find not only can't I cut a straight line, but I can't can't stay on a curve either. So I think maybe I'll just do cuts depicting water !!!!! I sure hope it gets better, I'm goin broke buyin wood!!
    Jack

welcome wildman , your skill will get better at scroll-sawing

Comment

Welcome Jack... You've got the right attitude. Try not to cut on the line but imagine where the line should be - just mess'in with you. For real though - look ahead of your cut like you would driving on a curve and it'll be easier to stay on the line. Start with simple patterns - animal puzzles perhaps, where staying exactly on the line isn't all that important and you'll get there. Good luck and post pictures.
      Douglas Fraser
      Eagle River, Alaska

My Gallery - Aurora Wood Crafts

Comment

Hi. I'm the same, new saw a few days ago.

Have been messing about with 20mm pine, 12mm Baltic Birch and 3mm mdf as I have plenty of these as offcuts.

Using a pencil, I draw a jigsaw type shape on the corner of a piece of scrap. Then I try to follow the line.

Nibbling away like this makes the materials last longer and I can almost follow a jigsaw type curve in 12mm ply IF the speed is s-l-o-w.
        John

Comment