Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New old guy... Or is it old new guy?

Greetings,

I have been scrolling "off and on" for 25 years. I have mainly focused on names, name peg boards and other "craft show" type scrolling. My most favorite scrolling is taking someone's personal signature and turning it into a pen desk set.

I have an old RBI Hawk 220 that I picked up in a garage sale a few years ago and that is my main saw. I first started with a RBI 14" saw (can't remember the model) it was all I could afford at the time. After selling that one I "down graded to a Delta 16" Home Depot special that cut suprizinigly well for an inexpensive saw. I used that one so much I broke an arm on the first one (saw replaced for free - thanks Home Depot) then broke blade holder(s) on the second one.

I knew that I needed to upgrade "back" to a quality saw. Along the way I had used a Hegner and loved the way it cut, ease of blade changes etc. but I couldn't justify the expense at the time. So I started hunting for a used Hawk and ended up with the old Hawk 220 that is now my current saw. I have done a few upgrades to her but the base saw is solid.

Anyway - hello from the old new guy!

Hello and welcome new guy! Glad you've found us, do you have a first name? It's a little bit easier....
    Frieke
    www.friewoodart.webs.com

Visit Frieke's gallery

Don't let the pain of your past and the fear of your future ruin the happiness of your present.

Comment

Whatever you decide your name to be, Welcome "a-board". I am curious and would love to see one of your signature desk sets, you have me wondering how that is accomplished.
      Posting project photos is not mandatory here, but sure appreciated. Come by often, with that many years of scrolling, you must have lots of tips and tricks up your sleeve. Willing to share some?
      Gloria ............... Two memorable things to say in life, "Hello" for the first time, and "Good-bye" for the last.

Comment