DW 788 alternative

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DW 788 alternative

Hi, I have been using the DW 788 saws for about 10 years and was wondering whether there is another saw which is significantly better. Thanks.

Ed

Ed

Most of the 788 users are upgrading to the Excalibur Ex-21 but there are other saws out there also such as Hegner, Hawk, and the Eclipse it just depends on what features you want and how much your willing to spend.
    Tim

In God we trust, all others must pay cash!

I don't want no bargains, they always cost me more money.

Comment

Hi Tim, the features that I am looking for are easy, tool-less blade changes and for inside cuts and smooth operation. I have two DW 788's and both are showing their age with excessive vibrations.

Ed

Comment

I have a dw788 that i have been using for over 12 years. I had some issues due to age of the saw and have recently upgraded to the ex21, and have seen a significant difference between the 2 saws. Quieter, less front to back motion on the blade stroke which has allowed me to do even finer cuts on fretwork. If you can afford the price difference I'd say upgrade. One new issue for the current dw788 which we understand will be discontinued and replaced with the delta clone is that the tables are not always flat and true, and the blade insertion hole in the table may be off set a small amount. If you get another dw788 or the delta clone check the table at the store first.
        "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
        Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment